9 Goddesses Mantra – Nav Durga Mantra Sadhana

Nav Durga, the nine forms of durga are Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandmata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri. Each manifestation of Durga is invoked by mantra or shlokas dedicated for each day of Navratri. All nine forms of Durga are attributed to Goddess Parvati.

Things required for mantra sadhana in navratri are:

A ghee lamp – One can light a lamp on the first day and refill the lamp so that it keeps lighting up till the ninth day. This is called akhand jyoti, akhand means non breakable, continuous. If not akhanda jyoti then You can also lit a lamp in the morning while you are chanting. The lamp can be an earthen lamp or made from any metal. The wick should be a cotton wick or made from the sacred red thread (mauli).

Asana or mat; a blanket is best. Plus a piece of red cloth to cover it. Or, if you don’t have a blanket, use whatever you have available. Place a red cloth on your asana.

Rosary (Mala) – For the chanting. One can use Rudraksha, crystal (sphatik), or red sandalwood rosary of 108 beads.

Fresh and clean clothes – Wear clean clothes every morning. Wearing red is ideal. Any other color will also do.

Navratri Sadhana Procedure

For any kind of sadhana or chanting or mantra anushthana be consistent in few things:

Be Consistent In

  • Timings, do chanting at the same time of the day.
  • Do chanting for the same count.
  • Keep the dress for the japa separate. Don’t wear it during regular activities.
  • Sit on the same place and same asana or mat.
  • Also keep the rosary same.

The Mantra Chanting

  • Get up early in the morning. Before sunrise is the best time.
  • Take a bath and wear clean clothes or red color. If you don’t have red, any color will do.
  • Lit the lamp daily before chanting.
  • Sit on your asana, prayer mat.
  • Follow the japa of the day with the rosary.
  • After japa you can perform your daily routine.

The Sankalpa or Vow

Only on the very first day, take a sankalpa or vow.

I, your name, son or daughter of parents name, hereby vow to perform Nav Durga Sadhana over the next nine days to get the grace of the Divine Mother. May the Goddess complete the sadhana and bestows her blessing. You should also say the objective or wish if you have any, along with the vow.

As we know navratri is for nine days, so the mantra sadhana is for 9 days. Each one of the nine days is dedicated to a particular Goddess, Thus nine goddesses for nine days. Each day has a new mantra. One should recite the mantra of the day along with the durga mantra. Below is the information about are the mantras of the each goddess.

Day 1 – Goddess Shailputri

ॐ देवी शैलपुत्र्यै नमः ।।
Oṃ Devī Śailaputryai Namaḥ.

Day 2 – Goddess Brahmacharini

ॐ देवी ब्रह्मचारिण्यै नम:
Oṃ Devī Brahmacāriṇyai Namaḥ

Day 3 – Goddess Chandraghanta

ॐ देवी चन्द्रघण्टायै नम:
Oṃ Devī Candraghaṇṭāyai Namaḥ

Day 4 – Goddess Kushmanda

ॐ देवी कूष्माण्डायै नम:
Oṃ Devī Kūṣmāṇḍāyai Namaḥ

Day 5 – Goddess Skandamata

ॐ देवी स्कन्दमातायै नम:
Oṃ Devī Skandamātāyai Namaḥ

Day 6 – Goddess Kaatyaayani

ॐ देवी कात्यायन्यै नम:
Oṃ Devī Kātyāyanyai Namaḥ

Day 7 – Goddess Kaalratri

ॐ देवी कालरात्र्यै नम:
Oṃ Devī Kālarātryai Namaḥ

Day 8 – Goddess Mahagauri

ॐ देवी महागौर्यै नम:
Oṃ Devi Mahagauryai Namah

Day 9 – Goddess Siddhidatri

ॐ देवी सिद्धिदात्र्यै नम:
Oṃ Devi Siddhidatryai Namah

Along with these navratri mantra dedicated to each day one should do the navarn mantra

ॐ ऐं ह्रीं क्लीं चामुण्डायै विच्चे  -  om aiṃ hrīṃ klīṃ cāmuṇḍāyai viche.

Chant before and after the mantra of the day at least 108 times.

End with the prayer. Bow head down to floor. Join hands. Feel the gratitude, power and calmness within.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: