Maa Baglamukhi – Incarnation of Goddess Parvati

Goddess Baglamukhi, one of the most worshipped goddess in tantric or shakti cult is the incarnation of Goddess “Parvati”. Generally Devi Parvati is popular as the daughter of Himalaya and consort of Hindu God Shiva. People know her as the navdurga but she also incarnated herself into 10 different Goddesses. These 10 incarnations are the feminine aspect of consciousness. These 10 forms are worshipped in a specific months in the form of Gupt known as Gupt Navratri.

These ten holy deities in Hinduism are known as “Mahavidya” or great wisdom science of Goddess. This Goddess of wisdom has 108 different names across Hindu mythology in India. All these practices (sadhana) of 10 Mahavidyas have their own importance so is of Goddess Baglamukhi.

Read the blog on Dus Mahavidyas

Ten Mahavidyas mentioned in ancient Tantra scriptures-

  1. Kali
  2. Tara
  3. Shodashi
  4. Bhuvaneshwari
  5. Chinnamasta
  6. Tripura, Bhairavi
  7. Dhumavati
  8. Baglamukhi
  9. Matangi
  10. Kamla

In Northern India, Mahavidya Bagalamukhi is also popular by the name of Pitambari meaning the Goddess of yellow colour. “Pitambari” is the Hindi name of yellowish golden. According to the religious books of Hinduism Devi Bagalamukhi rides upon Bagula Bird which represents wisdom and concentration.

The history behind the name “Bagalamukhi”

The history behind the name of Goddess Bagalamukhi is depicted in ancient Hindu holy scripts. The name “Bagala” was actually the word “Valga” which means “a bridle or to rein in”. Over the years of pronunciation “Valga” became “Bagla” and hence the Goddess is called Bagalamukhi. As well as many temples and places of Devi Baglamukhi are in India, where practitioners practice her worship.

According to the scriptures we get to know that Devi Bagalamukhi has powers to paralyze the enemy’s physical and mental state. She holds powers that can destroy the opponent’s mental capability and the senses. She has many names for instance, Devi Mahavidya, Devi Adishakti, Parvati, Sati, and Shivshakti.

Devotees worship the Goddess by reciting the mantra for at least 108 times. In addition to that there are tantra sadhana, stotras, kavach and more hymns to worship the goddess.

Another religious book depicts the translation of “Bagalamukhi” word, from the word “Kalyani” which means the Goddess of help. People in India called Devi Bagalamukhi with other names also as Pitambara Devi, Shatrubuddhivinashini, and Brahmastra Roopini.

A text from the book Kabjika Tantra-

Bakare Baruni Devi Gakare Siddhida Smrita. Lakare Prithvi Chaiba Chaitanya Prakrirtita”.

In the above mantra, the first two initials of the name Bagala define that Ba means “Bagala” which means Baruni, the Goddess who has power to eliminate the demon. Secondly Ga means the Goddess who provides shelter and all kinds of spiritual guidance (siddhis) to its “Bhakti”. The third initial from the mantra La explains that the Goddess Bagalamukhi holds all the divine powers and she is nurturing consciousness herself.

The Goddess of Wisdom – Dwi Bhuja or Chaturbhuja

Various texts describes the Devi Bagalamukhi having 2 hands or 4 hands which means Dwi Bhuja or Chaturbhuja respectively.

Dwi Bhuja – Two Handed Maa Baglamukhi

The two-handed idol of Goddess Bagalamukhi is the mild and calm form of Devi where she represents beauty, calmness, motherhood, and gentleness.

Mythology behind why she is goddess of calmness

In Indian mythology the era is divided into “yugas”. Yuga are four and satya yuga is first among them. A story of Devi Bagalamukhi is written in Hinduism in satya yuga when a great storm eventually started.

In fact the storm was some kind of disturbance to disturb the ancient gurus praying and performing their rituals. The storm was destroying the rituals. The “Rishis” were praying to Goddess Sati (Parvati) for health and wealth on the banks of river Haridra (the lake of turmeric). The rituals were performed to please Vishnu, the preserver.

But due to storm the rituals were disturbed and the rishis were upset. Therefore Goddess Bagalamukhi appeared before them from the lake. She approved the rituals by stopping the storm and the disturbances. It was from then people of India believed that the Goddess Bagalamukhi is the Goddess of calmness.

Chaturbhuja – Four Handed

Whereas Chaturbhuja or the four-handed idol of the Goddess Bagalamukhi is more towards the violent and aggressive form of the Goddess. The 4 handed statue holds up a cudgel in her right hand with which she defeats the demon while her left-hand holds the head of the demon and her tongue out in anger. This angry and violent personality of Devi Bagalamukhi represents judgment for the wrong deeds. 

The rituals involving the worship of Bagalamukhi are about gaining powers to defeat enemies by invoking the paralysis method. Her pictures also depict that she holds the power to paralyze the enemy into silence (Stambhana).

Do Baglamukhi Sadhana

  1. If you are facing legal issues (unwanted court cases).
  2. When you suffering from long time illness and you are not getting any relief (chronic health issues).
  3. If you are having any property disputes.
  4. If you are having quarrels in your house.
  5. In case of Kaal-Sarpa dosha in your horoscope.
  6. If you are having Pitra dosha in your horoscope.
  7. Any planet dosha in your horoscope.
  8. While you are facing a downfall in Business/Job.
  9. Facing any hindrances in marriage or the right match for marriage.
  10. For spiritual growth.
  11. To have a control over senses, specially the tongue.
  12. To control the mind.
  13. Focus is basis to do any work be it spiritual or material. So to gain high concentration and focus one can worship Maa Baglamukhi.
  14. To release karmic issues specially related to sixth house of astrology. Specifically sixth house is the house of past karma and represents Rog (disease), Ripu (enemy) and Rin (debts & loans).

Know The Mantras Of Goddess Baglamukhi

May The Goddess Baglamukhi Blesses Us All !!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: